Search

Blogroll

Tags

 

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

Recent Posts

XML-Sitemap

Idiot payment sites

Just got this mail:

Your payment from has been initiated via Travelex’s fxpaynet.

To check the details of your payment, please follow this link:

https:/<strange web site that is not travelex>/<strange link>?<strange, personalized uid>

For more information on Travelex’s on-line ordering system, fxpaynet, please visit www.travelex.com

For more information on payments, please email: fxsupport@travelexamericas.com

This email order notification is for information purposes only. It is not a guarantee of receipt of funds from Travelex Canada Ltd, Travelex Inc., Travelex Payments Ltd, Travelex Global Payments Pty Ltd, Travelex Financial Services (NZ) Ltd or Travelex Ltd and any reliance you place on this notification is at your own risk. Receipt of funds is dependent upon payment from Travelexs customer, the payor, and Travelex Compliance and Audit approval.This e-mail message (including any attachments) is private, intended solely for the recipient(s) or entity to whom it is addressed and may contain material which is confidential and privileged. No one other than the named recipient(s) may read, copy, rely on, redirect, save or alter any part of this message or attachment(s) in any way. The views, opinions and information expressed in this message represent those of the individual sender and do not reflect the views of the Travelex Group. Please take notice that the employees and/or agents of the Travelex Group are not authorized to make corporate commitments or representations via e-mail and no statement or representation made in this e-mail is binding upon the Travelex Group. While reasonable effort has been made to ensure this message (including any attachments) is free of viruses, opening and using this message (including any attachments) is at the risk of the recipient(s). The Travelex Group consists of Travelex Limited
, Ruesch International, Inc. and any subsidiaries, affiliates or related entities.

Ok, that is Spam / Money fraud, isn’t it?

No, it is not. It is actually a legit mail about a trip expenses reimbursement. But it took me ten minutes to find out that this is a legit site and I had a really bad feeling clicking on the link, because it might as well be a “click here and we know that your mail address exists and you will get even more Spam” check link.

There is no connection to the company which actually paid me the reimbursement. Just the name of a “service company” I never heard of. They did not tell me beforehand, that they will use this money service. This is a mail that has no context at all to the actual payment, the payer or me. “This will come as a surprise to you, we want to give you money”.

What do these businesses think? (What does Paypal think?) If their mails have all the signs of fraud mail, how can you distinguish them from fraud? And if you can not, why use these services?

16 February 2008 | Netstuff | No Comments

(C) 2005-2007 Henning Schmiedehausen